For those who are familiar with opening your fan page settings and getting used to seeing new changes all the time may want to take note of this one because I am about to share with you how to lose your fan page!
In the admin settings up until recently you could only remove yourself as an admin person for the fan page. The only person who could change the admin settings of other admin profiles was the main admin user – the original creator.
But that changed… there is NO ‘main admin’ user and EVERY admin user can remove ANYONE else – so it is important you TRUST the people in your fan pages admin or else you could lose access to your fan page.
The other change related to this is if you remove all the admin users you don’t receive a warning that this action will result in deleting your fan page anymore. So once you click ‘remove admin’ on the last profile – your fan page is GONE!
The reason behind these changes was valid and has made it easier for people like myself who create fan pages as a social media service for businesses to build it for them and then hand it over. It means I can now remove myself from the admin users list and give full control to the business owner. But obviously this new change isn’t perfect and has some draw backs still to be monitored.*
My agency team at Buzz Web Media are continuously testing new marketing methods with clients and our new custom fan page system will virtually re-create the appearance of your website in Facebook… or give you a very cost effective alternative mini website if you can’t afford a site yet. If you’re interested in getting one set up see my social media service list. These have our whole staff and clients excited – you can even order pizza through Facebook & then share it with your friends with this system!
*NB – an updated article entry on the improvements made to Facebook Admins is now available.